Holistic. Rejuvenating. Healing.
Over the next few weeks, I will be conducting a series of Yoga sessions at the Martin Luther King recreational park focused on introducing others to the different energy centers known as chakras. Please contact me if you would like more information on the yoga series. There are believed to be 7 major energy centers throughout the body. For this week’s post we will be focusing on the Root Chakra.

Mūlādhāra is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. Mūlādhāra, the root chakra, is your survival center. The root chakra is comprised of whatever grounds you to stability in your life. This includes your basic needs such as food, water, shelter, safety, as well as your emotional needs of interconnection, and being fearless. The root chakra is located in the region of the perineum – the small region just between the genitals and the anus. This chakra affects Large intestine, Immune system and all reproductive organs. It represents the life force of the physical body itself.

When your Mūlādhāra chakra is unbalanced, you feel unbalanced, all over the place, fearful and insecure. When your root chakra is balanced, you feel very grounded and connected with the Earth, resulting in a strong sense of inner security. You feel supported and thus are able to manifest abundance and open new doors. When all is well with this chakra, you’ll feel secure, calm and anchored in reality. You’ll be bold enough to tackle new challenges, and you’ll feel confident doing so. This makes a properly aligned Root Chakra vital whenever you’re trying something new or pursuing a major life goal.

Common Problems and Symptoms

Some of the most common root chakra problems and symptoms include the following:

An increase in your anxiety levels
Feeling threatened or unsafe
Panic attacks or panic attack symptoms (like hyperventilation or a racing heart)
Negativity towards yourself and others
Concentration difficulties
An unhealthy relationship with food (e.g. starving, binging or purging)
Low self-confidence
Doubts about things you used to take for granted
Trouble making decisions
Excessive reliance on external feedback

Physical symptoms of a blocked or misaligned root chakra include the following:

Back pain
Digestive discomfort
Pain in the legs
Cold hands and feet

Stones & Crystals

Hematite, Red Jasper, Smoky Quartz, Black Onyx and Red Garnet are some of the most powerful root chakra crystals. These root chakra stones bring grounding and stability energies while ridding your body of negative energy.

Red Jasper. The root chakra’s associated color is red, so many of the root chakra stones are red as we. This one is linked to balancing, so it’s an ideal stone to have if you are battling erratic mood swings.
Red Carnelian. A pale red stone with orange hues, red carnelian is associated with strength, cleansing, and bravery. It is a good choice if you particularly struggle with fearfulness and can’t bring yourself to leave your comfort zone.
Obsidian. A black gemstone, obsidian is said to protect you from harm. You may draw some comfort from wearing it as you work to move to a place of greater security in your life.
Bloodstone. The stone itself is green. The name refers to its red spots. This semi-precious stone is linked to pushing away negative energy and increasing confidence. A perfect stone for combatting significant root chakra blocks.


Affirmations are incredibly useful for chakra healing. As with all affirmations, you can repeat these positive statements multiple times a day, or anytime you get a sense your chakra might be blocked. In particular,  try saying one or more of these root chakra affirmations right before or after you meditate, or when you get ready for the day ahead.

“Wherever I am, I am safe and secure.”
“I am stable, grounded and relaxed in this moment.”
“All of my safety needs will always be met.”
“I have a healthy body, a healthy mind, and an abundant life.”
“I am anchored to the earth and supported by the universe.”
“The universe will always support me and show me where to go next.”
“I deserve and receive support whenever I need it.”
“The universe will always provide for me.”
“I feel my root chakra opening, and I feel myself stabilizing.”
“I am secure and happy in my home.”

You can also combine affirmations with yoga poses, or try holding one of your root chakra stones while saying an affirmation. Some people also like to write their affirmations down, placing them in a prominent place as they continue daily chakra work.

I hope that you will be able to attend our upcoming class, but if it doesn’t quite fit with your schedule, feel free to schedule a private yoga session for yourself!




One Trackback:

[…] week we covered Mūlādhāra: The Root Chakra. This week we will be looking at the sacral chakra. Svadhisthana also known as the Sacral Chakra is […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *